Recent readings & watchings I have enjoyed

Oh hello blog, I guess I should come over here more regularly and write stuff and things or something. I’ve been actually writing on that novel I started. And pondering plot and structure and all that fun stuff. How to get from A to B in an interesting and interrupted manner. I’ve also gotten two, count ’em two rejections for publishing a horror short, so I’m feeling pretty good about that. Anyway, how about a wee round-up of some things I’ve been into recently.

Bitch Planet, you guys. Bitch. Planet. Issue #4 just came out, and the first five are being released in a trade, so you can pretty easily catch up. And you should. A twist on ’70s exploitation, it’s about women held on a prison planet for being ‘non-compliant’ which can broadly be defined as doing what the hell they want and not being subservient to men. Honestly, if you can get your hands on the individual issues (which have gone into second printings, perhaps more) I recommend those. The letters are great to read, but there’s a great essay by a guest writers in each issue. They cover feminist issues, but problems of race and poverty and systematic trouble, as well. The back covers are send-ups of traditional comic ads, featuring an assortment of “helpful” products for women to be more appealing to men.

I recently finished reading Joe Hill’s NOS4A2 and really really loved it. He may not love the comparison, but it felt really Stephen King-y, moreso than his other novels (which I also like. read Horns, skip the movie. :<) Now, I really need to get my paws on the companion comic he did, Wraith, for more of the fascinating villain Charlie Manx and his magical Rolls Royce.

I also finished listening to Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I’d heard good things and I know they’re making a movie, and when it popped up on Audible, I saw Wil Wheaton was reading it, so I said why not. Wheaton is great with audiobooks. The book was interesting enough, and if you’re into videogames and virtual reality and epic nerd quests, you’ll probably like it. With so much 80s nerdery making up a lot of the plot, I can see why it’s been optioned for film. And if they do it well, I feel like it will be a really fun movie. If.

Not finished, but mostly finished, listening to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy read by Stephen Fry. Oh my lord, he is so perfect with all the voices. I love him. And the book, obviously. I have no idea how long it’s been since I read it, but suffice it to say many years. I forgot just how ridiculous and brilliant it is, and now I need to read all the thing Douglas Adams wrote. This is an unfortunate side effect, since I no longer actually own any of them. Books can be so slippery. Sigh.

And let’s end with some movies — on Netflix, even! A fantastic horror comedy from New Zealand called Housebound. It is nearly perfect. It manages to have moments that will make you hurt from laughing and create a genuinely creepy atmosphere and offer some real horror, too. So, so good.

As a bonus, if you’re into all the magic of ridiculous 80s action movies, Kung Fury will fill you with glee, delight, maniacal laughter and all that. It’s only 30 minutes, a Kickstarter-funded (yes, we gave them monies) short that will hopefully serve to get funding for a full-length feature. I need to know what happens next.

Leave a Reply

